Identifying and Reporting Child Abuse and Neglect Training
Professionals who come into contact with children in the course of their everyday activities play a vital role in identifying and assisting children who are victimized. New York State law requires many professionals who are licensed and will come into contact with children and families (i.e. teachers, physicians, nurses, social workers, dentists, dental hygienists, psychologists, optometrists, chiropractors, and podiatrists) to take a two-hour course in identifying and reporting child abuse and neglect.
After completing this training, participants will be able to:
1. Effectively report child abuse or neglect to the New York State Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment (the SCR).
2. Assess real-life situations to determine whether there is “reasonable cause to suspect” child abuse or neglect.
3. Identify the common physical and behavioral indicators of child abuse or neglect exhibited by children.
4. Recognize the risk factors associated with parents and caretakers who may abuse their children.
5. Understand the legal framework underlying the child protective system.
For immediate access to course materials you can register for our self-paced online course. You will have full access to materials to read online or print and read at your leisure. When you are ready you can complete the online exam and, if successful, you will immediately receive a printable copy of the Certificate of Completion which can be submitted for your NYS licensure. This option costs $30. To register and take the online course click HERE.
To receive course materials through the mail, you can register for our correspondence course. After reading the materials and completing the exam, you mail it back to us and if you pass we will mail your Certificate of Completion which can be submitted for your NYS licensure. This option costs $30. To register please complete our printable application form
Organizations (i.e. schools, social service agencies, social work schools, hospitals) can host a workshop for employees who have regular professional contact with children. Based on the New York State approved curriculum, we can tailor this workshop to the needs of the audience and population they serve. Participants may receive a Certificate of Completion recognized by NYS and applicable towards licensure requirements. The cost for this workshop begins at $350 and includes all written materials and certificates. To request an onsite lecture, please contact us HERE
The NYSPCC Professionals’ Handbook: Identifying and Reporting Child Abuse and Neglect
This handbook serves as a study guide and desk reference for professionals required to take an approved Identification and Reporting of Child Abuse and Neglect course towards their licensure or for anyone who is mandated to report child abuse and neglect. The handbook covers important topics in regard to identifying child abuse and neglect, reporting child abuse and neglect, and legal protections and liabilities for reporters. It also contains an appendix of resources for mandated reporters, including selected statutes, forms to report abuse and neglect, and contact information for local Child Protective Services Offices throughout New York State.
Order now for $15.00 plus $5.00 shipping and handling